YOU CAN BUILD THE MACHINE THAT PRINTS COMPUTER CHIPS
A lithography stepper that patterns real chips for about 3,015 dollars in parts, plus open documentation for the rest of a semiconductor line.
by Hacker Fab project, started at Carnegie Mellon University
Open-hardwareScience
Built with3D printing
- difficulty
- ●●●●●
- time
- months, for a working process
- license
- license not specified
- repo
- repo ACTIVE0 stars
●●●●● · months, for a working process · license not specified · 0 stars · repo ACTIVE
WHAT YOU’LL NEED
Jump to section
COMPAREE VERDICT
Hacker Fab is an open documentation project for building a semiconductor fabrication line: a lithography stepper that patterns circuits, a spin coater, a tube furnace, a sputtering chamber, a thermal evaporator and more, with build guides, parts lists and standard operating procedures - though several pages are still work in progress and some tools (plasma etcher, probe station, vacuum pumping) are bought rather than built. The flagship is the Lithography Stepper V2: about 3,015 dollars in parts, 2 µm resolution, built around a Texas Instruments DLP evaluation board with a UV LED, Thorlabs optics and a motorised micrometer stage, based on earlier tools by Sam Zeloof and Huygens Optics. As of August 2026 the docs count ten established Hacker Fabs, from Carnegie Mellon to IIT Bombay. The stepper itself is documented as roughly a six-hour build, but turning it into working chips means learning cleanroom process, and the chemistry is the real hurdle: photoresists, developers and an HF-based oxide etch need a proper lab, fume hood and waste handling. If you have lab space and the will to learn the process, this is the project; it is not a garage build.
IN THE REPO
GOOD TO KNOW
- —Build guides, parts lists with vendor links and standard operating procedures for the fab tools, led by the lithography stepper; several pages (thermal evaporator, tube furnace, spin coater) are still work in progress, and some equipment is listed as bought rather than built.
- —Lithography Stepper V2 build cost documented at about 3,015 dollars; 2 µm optical and developed resolution on chips up to 2 cm x 2 cm, with an approximate build time of 6 hours.
- —The stepper uses a Texas Instruments DLP evaluation board fitted with a 410 nm UV LED, Thorlabs and Edmund Optics parts, a micrometer XYZ stage driven by stepper motors through 3D-printed mounts, and GRBL firmware on an Arduino.
- —Documentation lives at docs.hackerfab.org (sources on github.com/hacker-fab); by default hardware is CERN-OHL-W and software MPL-2.0.
- —As of August 2026 the docs count ten established Hacker Fabs, with others underway.
- —Anyone can contribute and no prior nanofabrication experience is required, but lab space, ventilation and chemical handling are assumed.
Parts to buy
8 itemsFrom our check of the build. Exact quantities and part numbers are in the creator’s BOM.
Can I build this?
Build at your own risk. Projects involve tools, electronics and sometimes mains voltage — follow the creator’s safety notes.
Videos
I Visited IIT Bombay's Secret Student-Run Semiconductor Fab (RuntimeBRT)
Walkthrough of a student-built fab, shows the stepper and other tools in operation
More builds like this
All projectsGallery
Start here
Navigation into the creator’s own docs — we don’t rewrite the guide, we route you to the source.
- 1.Read the documentation site (Start with the overview, then pick one tool and read its build guide end to end before ordering anything)
- 2.Join the community (Join the Hacker Fab Discord (linked from the docs homepage) — it is where the labs coordinate and post the latest status.)
- 3.Source the optics first(Thorlabs and Edmund Optics parts have lead times and the stepper will not align without them — order early)
- 4.Secure lab space and ventilation(Photoresist, developers, and etchants cannot be used safely without a fume hood)
Resources
Documentation, files and community threads for this build — we link straight to the original sources and never rehost the creator’s files.
KNOWN ISSUES
- Hardware is CERN-OHL-W and software MPL-2.0 by default, but individual contributions can carry an extra NOTICE file — check the specific tool before reusing it commercially.
- The 3,015-dollar figure is for the stepper alone; a complete fab (furnace, sputter, evaporator, coater) will push well into five figures.
- Optical alignment of the stepper is the single biggest time sink — expect iteration, and the 2 µm spec assumes you get it right.
- Some chemical suppliers will not sell photoresists and etchants to individuals, so check sourcing (and waste disposal) before you build anything.
- The sputtering system and thermal evaporator need high-vacuum pumping and gauges (bought, not built), and the tube furnace runs at 1100 C - infrastructure most maker spaces do not have.
Can I build just the stepper without the rest of the fab?
Yes - the Stepper V2 has its own build guide and SOP. To actually pattern something you also need to coat chips with photoresist (the docs pair it with a simple vacuum spin coater), a developer handled under a fume hood, and a microscope to check the result.
What resolution can I actually expect?
2 µm is the documented optical and developed resolution of the Stepper V2; the newer V2.1 design lists 1 µm optical resolution. Your result will depend on optical alignment, photoresist and exposure discipline - expect to iterate.
Is this legal to build at home?
The project is aimed at university labs and makerspaces. Building the tools is not the issue; the chemistry is - some suppliers sell photoresists and etchants only to businesses or institutions, and hazardous-waste disposal rules apply. Check your local regulations before buying.
How does this compare to commercial steppers?
It is a research and education tool, not production equipment: 2 µm resolution, 5 µm overlay alignment, a tiny 1.04 x 0.58 mm exposure field stepped across chips up to 2 x 2 cm, with operator-driven alignment through a camera view.
Community builds
No community builds yet — be the first, we feature the best ones.
Discussion1
FROM THE COMPAREE TEAM
As of August 2026 the docs count ten established Hacker Fabs, from Carnegie Mellon to IIT Bombay. If you had the lab space, which tool would you build first — the stepper, the furnace, or the sputter system?
Hacker Fab project, started at Carnegie Mellon University
Hacker Fab was started at Carnegie Mellon University by Elio Bourcart, Alexander Hakim and Sam Zeloof, and has grown into a network of ten established fabs at universities including Waterloo, Ohio State, UIUC, Georgia Tech and IIT Bombay. The stepper design builds on earlier tools by Sam Zeloof and Huygens Optics, and anyone can contribute - no prior nanofabrication experience required.
DISCLAIMER
- Comparee is not the author of the projects featured here. All rights to each project belong to its creator — every page links to the original source, and we never host creators’ files.
- Information is provided without warranty and may become outdated as projects evolve. Prices are indicative bands only — always check the creator’s parts list for current costs.
- Building and operating any project is at your own responsibility. Protective equipment, safe workshop practice and compliance with local regulations are the builder’s responsibility.
CompareeTEAM1mo agoedited
Practical notes from our verification: the documentation lives at docs.hackerfab.org, and it is mirrored on GitHub under the hacker-fab organisation, where the docs source and individual tool repositories (stepper, spin coater, thermal evaporator and more) are actively updated. The default licence stack is stated on the docs homepage: CERN-OHL-W for hardware and MPL-2.0 for software, with some contributions carrying an extra NOTICE. The community talks on Discord, linked from the docs. The lithography stepper is listed at roughly 3,000 dollars to build, but that is one tool — a complete fab with furnace, sputtering, evaporator and etching costs far more, and several of those tools are listed as bought rather than built. Chemistry is the other big hurdle: plan for proper handling, ventilation and waste disposal before anything else. The RuntimeBRT video shows the student-run fab at IIT Bombay in operation, good proof that this works outside Carnegie Mellon. Correction (4 October 2026): we re-checked this page line by line against the project's own repository, documentation and videos, and fixed errors in earlier versions.